CHEYENNE CAR ACCIDENT LAWYER
Hire an Experienced Lawyer Freeburg Law
Injured in a Car Crash in Laramie County? Our Cheyenne Auto Accident Attorneys Can Help
At Freeburg Law, our Cheyenne car accident attorneys are experienced, results-centered advocates for victims and their family members. Our law firm is committed to providing personalized legal representation to each and every client.
If you or someone who is close to you was hurt in a crash in Laramie County, we are here to help. To set up a no cost, strictly private consultation with a top Wyoming auto accident lawyer, please do not delay in contacting us today.
What to Do After a Car Crash in Cheyenne, WY
Car crashes remain a leading cause of accidental injuries in our region. According to data collected and published by the Wyoming Department of Transportation, there were 1,580 motor vehicle collisions reported in the City of Cheyenne in 2020 alone. Altogether, these accidents resulted in 359 confirmed injuries and 8 fatalities. There were approximately 400 additional car accidents reported in other communities in Laramie County.
Even the safest and most attentive of drivers should still be prepared for the risk of an accident. A car wreck can happen when you least expect it—and it can turn your entire life upside down in a matter of seconds. Here are three steps to take after a car accident in Cheyenne:
TYPES OF PERSONAL INJURY
Very pleased.Alex was very helpful during a stressful time for my family. He thoroughly explained the process and kept us informed of the procedure. We felt he always had our best interest at heart.
Your Guide to the Wyoming Car Accident Laws
We Will Maximize Your Compensation After a Crash
How Freeburg Law Can Help
Frequently Asked Questions
Even if you do not think you have suffered a serious injury, you should get a medical assessment. According to the Mayo Clinic, many kinds of injuries that a person can sustain in a car accident might not result in immediate signs. Some of those injuries are more serious than others, and they can worsen without appropriate and timely treatment. As such, you should get assessed by your healthcare provider as soon as you can.
If the accident was serious and resulted in any kind of injury, or if anyone sustained more than $1,000 in property damage, Wyoming law requires that the injury be reported. If anyone is injured at the scene of the accident, you should call 911. While Wyoming law does not require you to call the police to the scene of the accident for a minor crash, it is usually a good idea to call the police even if it does not seem as though anyone has sustained an injury. It could turn out that symptoms of your injury did not appear for hours or days, and you will want to have a police report from the crash to help with your car accident claim.
Yes. Under Wyoming’s modified comparative fault law, you can recover damages as long as you are not 51 percent or more at fault for the accident (at which point you will be barred from recovery). If you are 50 percent or less at fault, you can still recover damages from the at-fault driver, but your recovery will be reduced by your portion of fault. For example, if the court awards you $100,000 but you are determined to be 10 percent at fault, your damages award would be reduced by 10 percent (or $10,000 in this example), and you would recover $90,000.
The party or parties responsible for injuries in a car accident will depend upon the facts of the case. Common parties who are sued in car accident lawsuits include but are not limited to the following:
- Driver whose negligence resulted in the crash;
- Owner of a vehicle involved in the crash;
- Mechanic who performed negligent maintenance on one of the vehicles involved in the crash;
- Employer of the negligent motorist;
Property or premises owner where the accident occurred; or
- Designer, manufacturer, or retailer of a defective vehicle or one of its parts.
BY FREEBURG LAW